2018 Contest

2018 Rash Award in Fiction


Seth Wieck, Amarillo, Texas, “Tender Mercies of the Wicked”

Honorable Mention

D Ferrara, Wyckoff, New Jersey, “Save the Mill”

Dave McNamara, Dorchester, Massachusetts, “Common Value”


Heather Bell Adams, Raleigh, North Carolina, “Three Clicks”

Brodie Lowe, Indian Land, South Carolina, “Not the Man”

Mary Lambeth Moore, Raleigh, North Carolina, “Emergencies”

Ray Morrison, “Can’t You Say You’re Sorry?”

Elizabeth Chiles Shelburne, “Any Other Kind”

John Thomson, “The Forgiven”

C.D. Watson, Cashiers, North Carolina, “Lightning Crack, Thunder Roll”


2018 Rash Award in Poetry


Mark Svenvold, New York, New York, “Coda: Eurydice as Deja vu Finale”

Honorable Mention

Jo Barbara Taylor, Raleigh, North Carolina, “The Common Touch of Know-How”

Nancy Kassell, Brookline, Massachussetts, “Cuttings”

Ross Peters, Memphis, Tennessee, “Wetland Sounding”


Terry Hall Bodine of Lynchburg, Virginia, for “Mollusk”

Abby Caplin of San Francisco, California, for “Death of Sound”

Terri Kirby Erickson, of Pfafftown, North Carolina, of “Solea”

Robert Fillman of Macungie, Pennsylvania, for “The Second Offer”

Ian T. Hall of Raven, Kentucky, for “Foxfire”

Linda Flaherty Haltmaier of Andover, Massachusetts, for “To the Brink”

Angela Kelly, for “1979”

Preston Martin of Chapel Hill, North Carolina, for “A Quiet Poem”

Kevin J. McDaniel of Pulaski, Virginia, for “Storage”

Jim McDermott for “Mountaintop Removal”

Sally Stewart Mohney of Atlanta, Georgia, for “Fonta Flora Remains”

Phill Provance of Woodstock, Illinois, for “Triangle”

Greg Rappleye of Grand Haven, Michigan, for “Winter Flounder”

Claire Scott of Oakland, California, for “An Old Woman in a Dry Season”

Rachel Sobylya of Katy, Texas, for “Lenin”

Bonnie Stanard of Lexington, South Carolina, for “The Sensuals of Living in the South”

Max Stephan of Orchard Park, New York, for “The Return”

Rose Strode of Fairfax, Virginia, for “On an Evening Walk in the Woods My Sister Asks Me If I Recall the Sound of Our Mother’s Voice”

Jessica Lynn Suchon of Nashville, Tennessee, for “Epilogue”

Nancy H. Womack of Rutherfordton, North Carolina, for “Dear Debbie Reynolds”


Judges for the 2018 Awards were Amy Greene (fiction) and Maurice Manning (poetry).

%d bloggers like this: